Our Weekly Correspondents

Gastonia, NC Correspondent– I’m 48 years old and employed as a news copy editor.  I live just outside Charlotte, N.C. and am the father of two school-aged sons.

Politically, I’m all over the map, as I think most of us are.  I’ve been a chef, a dispatcher, a bodyguard, a farm worker and a host of other odd jobs.  In my free time, I play poker, smoke large chunks of meat and hike the beautiful trails of my region.

Owatonna, MN Correspondent-  I’m male, age 61, living in Owatonna MN. Married. Lived in the Midwest all my life and was born and raised in MN.

I’m currently a freelance writer and author (my first novel was published in 2016). In addition to various writing for websites and blogs, I’ve had two articles published about solo canoeing in recent issues of the Boundary Waters Journal (2014 and 2016).

I’ve had careers as a music teacher, financial planner, wine consultant, and private investor. Writing is what I intend to do for the foreseeable future. My areas of interest/expertise include politics, economics, finance and investing, wine, golf, music, and wilderness camping and canoeing.

Myrtle Beach Correspondent- I am 32, female, and married. My husband and I have no children, but we do have a dog and two snakes. I have lived in Myrtle Beach my entire adult life, I moved here in 1999 as a junior in high school. I have an associates degree in the paralegal field, but I work in marketing.

I have had jobs in the restaurant industry, hotel industry, retail, paralegal, and currently, I do marketing, specifically online/social media. In my spare time, I enjoy spending time on the beach, traveling, and eating; I am also specifically interested in science and technology. My favorite TV channels are the Science Channel, Investigation Discovery, and TruTV.

Prescott Valley, AZ Correspondent- Knowledge is powerful and writing is one of the best means to convey it. As a freelance writer, and former English/language arts, journalism and special education instructor, writing for me is an outlet for all kinds of possibilities. My credentials include a BA in English from Arizona State University and a MS in special and diagnostic education from the University of Houston along with teaching experience and administrative work in the private sector.